“One is not born, but rather becomes a woman.” -Simone de Beauvoir

Stay in the know!

Facebook Twitter Twitter

Call for Nominations for GLQ Caucus Awards

The GL/Q Caucus of the MLA Invites Nominations for Three Annual Awards


This award serves not only to honor a GLBT academic activist every year, but also, in Eve Sedgwick’s words, “to publicize and celebrate and as widely as possible the range, the forms, the energy, and the history of queer activism by academics.” Michael Lynch wanted to honor those whose activism is academic in context but not limited to work for the Caucus or Division. This activism might consist of activities including (but not limited to) direct service to, or administrative advocacy on behalf of, LGBTQ students; action that results in non-discrimination clauses in contracts; working to establish domestic partner benefits, awareness of transgender issues in housing and health services, or other LGBT-friendly campus policies; facilitating connections between campus and LGBT community activists; or other forms of campus, public, or media activism. Lynch also wanted the award to offer a way that, in Eve Sedgwick’s words, “the achievements and struggles of each of the generations of lesbian/gay scholars who are currently active could become more visible to the others.”

Nominations for this award, including a summary of the nominee?s qualifications, may be submitted to Committee Chair Scarlet Bowen at Scarlet.Bowen(at)Colorado.EDU no later than November 1, 2011.


Named in honor of a scholar whose two landmark books have been profoundly influential in gay and lesbian studies, the Bray Award will be given to the best book in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and/or queer studies in literature and cultural studies, all broadly construed.

Eligibility: all books must bear a 2010 copyright date.

Deadline: all books must be received by November 1, 2011.

To nominate your own book, contact your editor and have him or her email Committee Chair Richard T. Rodriguez at rtrodrig(at) To nominate someone else’s book, contact the author with this info (or, if necessary, email the nomination to Richard T. Rodriguez). Direct contact from an editor is preferred.


The Crompton-Noll Award for best essay in lesbian, gay, queer studies in the modern languages/literatures pays tribute to Louis Crompton, who passed away in 2009, and Dolores Noll (Kent State University), two early scholar/activists who helped found the gay and lesbian caucus of the MLA. The award recognizes the important work of lesbian, gay, and queer studies in the modern languages and the history that has helped make this current work possible.

Essays published between July 1, 2010 and June 30, 2011 may be submitted by email attachment to Committee Chair Kenneth B. Kidd at kbkidd(at) no later than November 1, 2011. Winners will be announced at the GL/Q Caucus cash bar during the MLA Convention in Seattle.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace
  • RSS
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Buzz

Comments are closed.

** FALL 2017 EVENTS **

** FALL 2017 EVENTS **

Cixousversaire: A Celebration of Hélène Cixous

Cixousversaire: A Celebration of Hélène Cixous

a multi-day conference with Geoffrey Bennington, Tom Bishop, Anne Bogard, Hélène Cixous, Karen Finley, Peggy Kamui, Camille Laurens, Bertrand Leclair, Elissa Marder, Daniel Mesguich, Judith Miller, Olivier Morel, Eric Prenowitz, Avital Ronell, & Marta Segarra

September 14 to 16,
Thursday to Saturday

Hemmerdinger Hall
Silver Center
100 Washington Square East, 1st floor

Black Performance on the Outskirts of the Left: A History of the Impossible

Black Performance on the Outskirts of the Left: A History of the Impossible

a discussion & celebration of the new book by Malik Gaines, with panelists Ricardo Montez, Fred Moten, & Alexandra Vasquez, with a response by Malik Gaines

September 21, Thursday
6:30 to 8 pm

Performance Studies Studio
721 Broadway, room 612

Apparatus of Power

Apparatus of Power

a Decolonizing Vision Speaker Series artist talk with Shahzia Sikander

September 25, Monday
6 to 8 pm

285 Mercer Street, 4th Floor